Why Jesus?

My heart has found a resting place.

These are the words that popped into my mind during my quiet time this morning. I was praying and contemplating what following Jesus has heart hands, sun in heart, sun in hands, heart hands sunset, sunset hands, heart skymeant for me personally.

When some talk about their faith, they talk about love, joy, peace, comfort, forgiveness, etc. It is true that when there are people hard to love, I find a wellspring of love in God to draw upon. It is true that when I am not happy, even when I am grieving or dismayed, I find a wellspring of joy in the Lord. But following Christ certainly is NOT an easy road. And, the enemy is constantly attacking and trying to destroy those who follow the Lord.

As I mulled all this over in my head and asked myself “Why follow Jesus?” my head responded: “Because my heart has found a resting place.” Not long after that popped into my head, I remembered an old hymn that I have not heard in a really long time. I thought the phrase came from the hymn, so I looked it up online. I was close.

The hymn, by Eliza E. Hewitt, is My Faith has Found a Resting Place. The first verse and chorus say:

My faith has found a resting place, Not in device or creed;
I trust the ever living One, His wounds for me shall plead.

I need no other argument, I need no other plea,
It is enough that Jesus died, And that He died for me.

The first lines of the other verses move me deeply:

2) Enough for me that Jesus saves, This ends my fear and doubt;

3) My heart is leaning on the Word, The living Word of God,

4) My great Physician heals the sick, The lost He came to save;

For the complete hymn, check it out on cyber hymnal: My Faith Has Found a Resting Place.

 

Has your heart found a resting place?

by: Delana H. Stewart

******************************************************

To listen to Delana sing “God Will Make This Trial a blessing” click here.

See also:

She Never Told Me (What’s the one thing you hope people never say about you.)

Coming to A Bookshelf Near You!

Of Sheep and Shepherds (Of letting go and trusting God)

******************************************************************************

For regular updates and interesting tidbits check out and “like” my Facebook pages! Your support is appreciated!

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Nine-Year-Pregnancy/312101615473700

https://www.facebook.com/ThreeDaysAtSea

 

 

7 thoughts on “Why Jesus?

  1. Pingback: Giving It Everything You’ve Got! | Delana's World

  2. Pingback: Of Swords and Living Books | Delana's World

  3. Pingback: The Cancerous Weed and the Beautiful Lawn | Delana's World

  4. Pingback: Read Me Like a Book | Delana's World

  5. Pingback: Ham, Bacon, Lettuce, Tomato? (HBLT) | Delana's World

  6. Pingback: The Stately Palm | Delana's World

Leave a Reply

