Free Hugs

by: Delana H. Stewart

Free Hugs

Hugs, Home, Gates, Gardens

What does it say on the door to your secret garden?

 

When we visited Thailand a month or so ago, we went to the Sunday bazaar. Out in front of the gate stood a scraggly-bearded man with a shirt that read “Free Hugs.”

He did not seem to be getting many takers, but it reminded me how often we forget to give the daily love and encouragement needed by so many around us.

 

 

Hug Me – I need Hugs

I probably spend more time thinking about or even talking about my difficulties, my struggles, my illnesses, my need for “hugs” and daily encouragement, rather than focusing on giving “free hugs” – encouragement, blessings, uplifting words—spiritual, emotional, and physical hugs.

Funny thing though . . .

It never ceases to amaze me how encouraging someone else, loving someone else, hugging, blessing, touching, lifting up someone else, in turn encourages and blesses me.

What does your T-shirt say?

I Need Hugs!

Or

Free Hugs!

But encourage one another daily, as long as it is called “Today,” so that none of you may be hardened by sin’s deceitfulness.” Hebrews 3:13, NIV

“Dear friends, let us love one another, for love comes from God. Everyone who loves has been born of God and knows God.” I John 4:7

“Like apples of gold in settings of silver Is a word spoken in right circumstances.” Proverbs 25:11, NASB

 ********************************************************************************

Before posting this, I decided to research the “Free Hugs” T-shirt that I saw. I found an interesting story:

http://www.freehugscampaign.org/

See also:

Three Days at Sea: Soul flotation when the waves are pulling you under.

 

Family, Mommy, Faith, Education, Inspiration

2 thoughts on “Free Hugs

  1. I was a lonely high school kid, the youngest in my class. I had very few friends, and I was feeling like I had none. It was the worst day of a very bad week. Seeing me in the hallway and sensing my dark mood, one of my teachers, Mr. Bailey, put his arm around me and said, “Tommy, I want you to know that I really enjoy having you in my class.” I remember that moment like it was yesterday — even though it was more than 50 years ago.

    It is amazing how a timely hug and a few kind words can lift one out of the swamp of despair and even inspire us to pass it on. I sometimes do but most of the time I’m too wrapped up “with the worries of this life” to be that sensitive to the needs of others.

    Thanks for the reminder!

Leave a Reply

