Hope does not disappoint

hanging on
In my daily Bible reading, I am currently in the book of Romans. Today, I was once again amazed at how God gives us the ability to exult even in tribulation, suffering, grief.

“And not only this, but we also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us.” –Romans 5:3-5 (NASB)

It doesn’t mean we won’t ever be sad–even Jesus wept at the passing of Lazarus. It just means that even in our difficult times, God gives us a reason to exult–having love poured into us through The Comforter.

What does exult mean? Exult means to rejoice greatly, to be jubilant.

Amazing! Reminds me of Psalm 23–“even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I fear no evil, for You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.”

One thought on “Hope does not disappoint

  1. Pingback: Perseverance and Adoption « Nine Year Pregnancy

Leave a Reply

