Above It All — Comfort, Mercy, Affirmation

Comfort, mercy, encouragement, affirmation … we need these in abundance to enable us to patiently endure the trials we face in life. Today, I read 2 Corinthians 1 and 2, where Paul reminds us that God is the God of all comfort, the Father of mercies, who comforts us in all our affliction. Why does God do this? So that we can then comfort others in any affliction with the comfort we receive from God. He is faithful. And, if we still do not get it, Paul tells us that the many promises of God are “yes.” Paul also tells us that if we do not forgive, comfort, and reaffirm others, that they can be overwhelmed with excessive sorrow.

Paul knew what it was like to need comfort in order to endure. At one point he even said that he and Timothy were burdened excessively, beyond their strength, despairing even of life.  He went on to say that this occurred so that they would not trust in themselves but in God.

Yesterday I listened to a song by Building 429 that reminds me of not only our need to be lifted up by God, but to also lift others up during their trials.

Above it All

Oh I’m waiting for the answer to the question in my soul, Lord why did You lead me here?
Because I, I take a look around and a desperate world surrounds me, And I know I’m not of this place, but it’s here and in my face; And all that I am wants to run; Well God I feel helpless and undone

Lift me up above it all…I’m feeling broken and alone, Don’t let me turn to stone .
Lift my heart above it all…Because I’ve lost my hope tonight
And I’m praying for the strength to carry on; Lord will You lift me up above it all

Now I’m waiting for a glimpse of hope in an eye; But a flash of sunlight shows a faded gray
Because these streets are hard and cold; And the alleys burn like coal with a stench of helplessness
And all the life that’s been misspent; And all that I am wants to run…God I feel helpless and undone

Lift me up above it all…I’m feeling broken and alone, Don’t let me turn to stone .
Lift my heart above it all…Because I’ve lost my hope tonight
And I’m praying for the strength to carry on; Lord will You lift me up above it all

*Bridge*
Maybe I’m not supposed to fly, Cause Maybe You want me here tonight

To lift them up above it all, When they’re broken and alone,Don’t let me turn to stone
Lift them up above it all; Because they cannot stand alone
And they’re praying for the strength to carry on

Lift us up above it all; When we’re broken and alone, Don’t let us turn to stone
Lift us up above it all; Because we cannot stand alone
And we’re praying for the strength to carry on
Lord will You lift us up above it all

***************************************************************

You can listen to samples of Building 429 on Christianbook.com: http://www.christianbook.com/building-429/glory-defined-the-best-building-429/pd/CD77983?item_code=WW&netp_id=528351&event=ESRCN&view=details

Leave a Reply

