Fixing Eyes

As most mornings tend to be, I came to the throne of grace mentally and emotionally drained from looking into the brown eyes of defiance and battling minds, wills, and emotions. In the hour of my need, God abundantly provided.

Today, I studied Hebrews 12 and 13, where I was quickly commanded to lay aside every encumbrance and every sin…run the race with endurance…and fix my eyes on Jesus! The Word exhorted me to consider Jesus and his suffering…so that I would not grow weary and lose heart. And, to consider how in my striving against my own sinful nature and other sinful natures in my home, I had not yet suffered to the point of shedding blood. Perhaps a few tears, though.

But, ah, there’s hope! Hebrews 12:11 reminds us, “All discipline for the moment seems not to be joyful, but sorrowful; yet to those who have been trained by it, afterwards it yields the peaceful fruit of righteousness.” May it be so!

The exhortation continues: Strengthen weak hands and feeble knees. Pursue peace. Don’t become bitter. Then, I am reminded that I have not come to an untouchable, unapproachable mountain, but to Mt. Zion, the city of the living God, myriads of angels, and to Jesus the mediator.

The author reminds us–Let us show gratitude for this unshakable Kingdom! Let us continually offer a sacrifice of praise!

So, this morning, I encourage you (as I encourage myself) to fix your eyes on Jesus!

Here is a Youtube video someone made of one of my favorite Steven Curtis Chapman songs called “His Eyes.”

Steven’s official site.

Some of the words to this song are:

Sometimes His eyes are gentle
And filled with laughter,
And sometimes they cry;
Sometimes there is a fire
Of Holy anger,
In Jesus’ eyes.
But the eyes that saw hope in the hopeless,
That saw through the fault to the need,
Are the same eyes that look down from Heaven
Into the deepest part of you and me.

CHORUS
His eyes are always upon you;
His eyes never close in sleep.
And no matter where you go,
You will always be in His eyes, in His eyes.

One thought on “Fixing Eyes

  1. Pingback: Delana’s World « The Education Cafe

Leave a Reply

