A Season of Waiting

If you have been struggling with unanswered prayer or have been waiting a really long time for God to answer your prayer, prayer, surrendering, lifted hands, walking, nature, statues, surrender, kneeling man, journey, waiting, struggle, adoptionthen this is for you. If you have been waiting a long time for God to bring a spouse into your life or if you have been waiting on God to open your womb, then this is for you. If you have been enduring a long adoption journey, this is most certainly for you.

In 2005, I wrote the below letter to friends and family. It was written after 8 years of waiting on God regarding adoption. It was written 2 years before God answered our prayer and brought our little girl into our lives.

************

God has been so faithful to take me from disappointment and discouragement to peace and trust and rest.  I am no longer sad and weepy and frustrated by the twists and turns of the adoption process.  That doesn’t mean I don’t have a sad thought from time to time, but I have felt empowered to cast those aside.   I am focusing on thinking on whatever is true, honorable, noble, good, etc.

 The man who led the devotion in small group spoke about James 5:11. Before last night’s session, God had already begun to work in my heart through this very Bible verse– “As you know, we count as blessed those who have persevered. You have heard of Job’s perseverance and have seen what the Lord finally brought about. The Lord is full of compassion and mercy. ” (NIV*)  God is teaching me to trust in His Character of compassion and mercy.  He is saying, “see what I finally brought about in Job’s life?”  God had the book of James include that verse to remind us when we are in the midst of a discouraging situation to trust in who God IS and in what He has done.

The speaker also taught on 2 Peter 1:5-9, where we learn what to add to our faith.

5 For this very reason, make every effort to add to your faith goodness; and to goodness, knowledge; 6 and to knowledge, self-control; and to self-control, perseverance; and to perseverance, godliness; 7 and to godliness, brotherly kindness; and to brotherly kindness, love. 8 For if you possess these qualities in increasing measure, they will keep you from being ineffective and unproductive in your knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ. 9 But if anyone does not have them, he is nearsighted and blind, and has forgotten that he has been cleansed from his past sins. (2 Peter 1:5-9 NIV 1984).

Faith says– Lord, I trust You.

Virtue says– I give ____ back to You.  Lord, I want You to get the glory.  Out of a desire for God to get the glory, we seek Him. We seek Him through prayer and reading His Word.

Knowledge says– Speak, Lord, for your servant is listening.  Then knowledge waits for God to tell or show His Way.

Self-Control says–I am going to stay out of Your Way God.  I yield to You and Your plan for my life in this (and every) situation.   This comes in denying self and listening to and obeying the Spirit.  It is “self” being controlled by the Spirit.

Perseverance says–I will wait on Your timing, Lord.  I can stand under the load because I know Your character is one of compassion and mercy.  I know that You want to work all things together for good in my life.  I trust that You are in control and nothing is allowed to happen to me or in my life that You haven’t allowed to happen.  I will stand firm in You.  It is persistent determination. Last week I could not understand how Paul could say that he rejoiced in his distresses and persecutions, but I understand it now.  I understand that if I am trusting in Him, in His Way, His Plan, and if I have the right motive and truly want Him to get the glory, and if I am listening for His direction and yielding to His plan (knowing that His character is good and He is trustworthy), THEN I can rejoice even in my distresses because I trust His love for me and His plan for my life in and through this situation. 

Godliness says–I have a genuine reverance for You, Lord, and your leadership in my life.

Brotherly Kindness says–Even though I have this need (or needs), even though I am struggling through a trial….I am persevering, I am standing firm and steadfast in Christ and can reach out and help others with their needs and hurts and problems.

Love says–I can give of myself to meet another’s need without asking or expecting anything in return.  We can’t reach out to others in kindness if we are hurting so much that we have crawled into a hole.  We have to trust God and let Him heal our hurts.  We have to trust that even while we are hurting or needing, He has a Plan and His Plan is good….full of compassion and mercy towards us.

Often, for me, it goes back to not yielding to His control of me.  But even more often than that, for me, it goes back to square one: Do I really trust Him?  And square two:  Do I want my way or do I really want Him to get the glory?  Do I have the right motive.  This is very convicting, especially as it relates to my desire to adopt.  Do I trust Him and His timing?  Do I trust that it is He who is in control and in charge of the situation?  Do I have the right motive and want Him to get the glory or do I just want to have a daughter, right now, my way, my timing?

standing on beach, beach, sea, waves, girl on beach, girl watching waves, girl looking at sea

God sees the big picture.  He has always known and done what is best in my life.  I have tried to screw things up many times in my life.  And even when I have blown it, He has been faithful to draw me even closer to Himself, teaching me more about His character and His ways, and working things out for good in my life and for His glory.

***********************************

God DOES answer prayer. Sometimes we go through a season of waiting, enduring, persevering until His time is right. If you find yourself in a season of waiting, of wondering if God has heard your plea, hang on!

Delana H Stewart

For more on faith: click here!

For more on adoption: click here!

Order a copy of My Paper Pregnancy Journal to write about your journey:  click here to order.

See also: Another Friend’s Baby Shower (Is it okay to be angry?)

 Scripture references from:

New International Version 1984 (NIV1984)Copyright © 1973, 1978, 1984 by Biblica
A fellow blogger has written a great post about waiting, called Waiting with hope. Check it out!

****************************************************************

Need Encouragement for the difficult days:

Is life overwhelming at times? Do you ever feel caught in an emotional undertow?

Three Days at Sea: Soul flotation when the waves are pulling you under

http://3daysatsea.wordpress.com/2012/10/30/remembering-being-rescued/

http://3daysatsea.wordpress.com/2012/08/12/rays-of-hope/

******************************************************************************

Family, Mommy, Faith, Education, Inspiration

17 thoughts on “A Season of Waiting

    • I am glad you were blessed! I am currently working on writing a book about our journey. When it gets closer to going to print, I will likely put an introduction to it on here.
      –Delana

  1. Pingback: Dare to Desire « Delana's World

  2. Pingback: Death before Life « Delana's World

  3. Pingback: Thanks-Crostic « Delana's World

  4. Pingback: Perseverance and Adoption « Nine Year Pregnancy

  5. Pingback: Waiting in the Cocoon « Delana's World

  6. Pingback: Is the Adoption Journey Worth it? « Nine Year Pregnancy

  7. Pingback: 9 Months or 9 Years — Worth the Wait! « Nine Year Pregnancy

  8. Pingback: 7 Tips for the Adoption Journey: Surviving the Wait | Nine Year Pregnancy

  9. Pingback: What Are You Waiting For? | Delana's World

  10. Pingback: Waiting Expectantly | Nine Year Pregnancy

  11. Pingback: Enlarged in the Waiting | Nine Year Pregnancy

  12. Pingback: Writing While You Wait | Nine Year Pregnancy

  13. Pingback: Breakthrough Prayer | Delana's World

  14. Pingback: Waiting Forever | Nine Year Pregnancy

  15. Pingback: Good Grief, It’s Christmas | Nine Year Pregnancy

Leave a Reply

