Hugging Porcupines

Sometimes people are like prickly porcupines. In hugging or helping them you may get hurt in the process. But, God loves us even when WE are the prickly porcupine. We need to love our spouses, children, siblings, parents, friends, neighbors even when they are prickly porcupines. Hugging prickly people brings healing. Have you hugged a porcupine lately?

I hugged one last night. She did not want to be hugged. She did not want to be prayed for. But I did both anyway. About twenty minutes later she crept downstairs and into my study and said: “Mommy, I’m sorry for being mean.” That was the salve that my heart needed after hugging the porcupine!

John 13:34-35– 34 “A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. 35 By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.”

New International Version (NIV)

Copyright © 1973, 1978, 1984, 2011 by Biblica

Out of curiosity, I Googled “hug porcupine” and found some great images! I also searched Amazon.com and found over a dozen books. My favorite image comes from a CD series by Dr. John Lund. I do not know anything about this series, but the review sounds pretty interesting.

*****************************************

Another blogger posted about hugging porcupines, read–

Hugging Our Porcupine

3 thoughts on “Hugging Porcupines

  1. Love that. I’ve hugged many daughter porcupines and I’m sorry to say, my children have hugged a Mommy porcupine more times than I care to remember. (cringe). Thank you for sharing the “pointed” 🙂 visual! I love to visualize! It sticks on me better!

  2. Pingback: Bathing Elephants « The Education Cafe

  3. Pingback: Thorny Yet Fragrant | Delana's World

Leave a Reply

