Keeping You Company

Our daughter was 6-year’s-old when we adopted her into our family. During her first year with us, she struggled with being in any room of the house by herself. Even if I just needed to go get clothes out of the dryer, she would leave what she was doing and follow me.

That year, we used a timer a lot. If I needed to go take care of laundry or get something from the kitchen, I would set the timer for 5 minutes and tell her I would be back by or before the timer rang. This gave her security. In time, I was able to lengthen the time for doing things without her.

Now, four and a half years later, she does pretty well playing, watching TV, or drawing without having to have someone with her all the time. She still prefers doing things with people, but can handle a little alone time. However, she still struggles with shower time. She wants me either in the bathroom or just out side the door. She’s older now, and we have been working on her ability to do this task independently.

Last night she was drawing at the table in the dining room when I told her that I needed to go take a shower. “Okay, Mommy,” she said.

Toward the end of my shower, I heard a knock at the bathroom door. Then it was quiet. I finished my shower and turned the water off. “Darling, are you okay?” I asked, wondering if she was still there.

“Yes,” she responded, “I came to keep you company.”

*******************************************************************

If you are interested in reading about our adoption story, look for Nine Year Pregnancy: Waiting on God — Our Journey of Adoption. You can read reviews and excerpts at http://nineyearpregnancy.wordpress.com .

 

 

Family, Mommy, Faith, Education, InspirationSupport this blog by clicking the above image each time you visit Delana’s World. Thanks!

2 thoughts on “Keeping You Company

  1. I can relate. Several of our children have gone through that for awhile after they have come home. With one set of three we adopted, i couldn’t go out to the garage or anywhere out of their site without them crying and being afraid. Their reality was that parents abandon, they leave them at the house alone. Terrible! One of ours we adopted at age 7 (she is 10 now) still does, to a degree, she falls apart whenever I have to go somewhere for the afternoon or go away for a ladies’ retreat or her daddy and I go overnight for our anniversary getaway. I love your idea of setting the timer, so she could grow to learn you will reappear. Our three yr old (our only child @the time), like your little one,would be stressed and upset if I left the room and followed me everywhere when we first moved into our house in 2001! I would’ve loved to try the timer exercise with her as she got used to a new home. 🙂 love your posts! Thank you, sis!

Leave a Reply

