Better Than Thousands

Delana H. Stewart

The Place God Dwells

In studying Psalm 84: 1-12 (NIV), I compared and contrasted the psalmist’s experience visiting the Temple of the Lord with Paul’s first letter to the Corinthians (6:19-20) regarding those who follow Jesus being the temples in which God dwells.

In the first two verses of Psalm 84, the psalmist writes:

How lovely is your dwelling place, Lord Almighty!
My soul yearns, even faints, for the courts of the Lord;my heart and my flesh cry out
for the living God.

Do I long for the Lord like that? Here I am, a temple of the Mighty God. Do I take the time to be still and seek Him? How lovely is my temple in which He dwells?

The Journey There

Verses 4-5 state: Blessed are those who dwell in your house; they are ever praising you. Blessed are those whose strength is in you,
whose hearts are set on pilgrimage.

The Lord, the maker of the heavens and the earth, dwells in me. I should be ever praising Him. When God’s presence filled the Temple, people traveled long distances to be in His presence. I do not have to journey to a far off place. God is in me. Yet I must set aside time for solitude to meet Him in this place. I must journey inward to experience the fullness of His presence.

Everyday in His Presence

In verse 10, the psalmist exclaims:

10 Better is one day in your courts than a thousand elsewhere; I would rather be a doorkeeper in the house of my God
than dwell in the tents of the wicked.

Wherever I walk, I am in the courts of the Lord. Wherever I sit, wherever I stand, wherever I work, wherever I talk. Do I live my life like I am in God’s courts? Can others sitting in the room with me experience being in God’s presence?

The Psalmist concludes by saying:

12 Lord Almighty, blessed is the one who trusts in you.

And Paul tells those who trust in Jesus–

19 Do you not know that your bodies are temples of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; 20 you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your bodies.  1 Corinthians 6:19-20 NIV


 

5 thoughts on “Better Than Thousands

  1. Pingback: A Thousand for One | Delana's World

Leave a Reply

