Divine Goodness

A book review by Delana H. Stewart. “Really God?”  I don’t know why I am so amazed, but He’s done it again. Just what I needed to hear, or in this Priscilla Shirer, Faith, God, Ephesianscase read, just at the right time . . . exactly the right time. Definitely a word aptly spoken . . . About a month ago I was asked to review the book God is Able by Priscilla Shirer. The book arrived today, and I thought I might just wait until after the holidays to read it. One emotional thought after another assaulted my mind as I scrubbed another dish and tried to hold the tears at bay. And just when I whispered in my mind, “God, I can’t handle this” . . . in popped the thought . . . “go read that book now.” The book that just arrived. The book that I didn’t order. The book that I hadn’t planned on reading — and yet there it was waiting to be read. Priscilla Shirer, in her across-the-coffee-table-approach, has a way of drawing you in from the very first line: “What is it? Come on, you can tell me.” Her prelude sounded as if she had planted a bug in my head and heard my thoughts from the past 45 minutes. Her words revealed me and relieved me at the same time. She writes: “In the midst of these various challenges and struggles that come together to threaten my sense of security, stability, and balance, I’ve found my worst fears confirmed. I am insufficient, outmatched, and incapable of fixing everything. Sometimes I don’t know how I’m going to make it through the day. But I’ve also learned something else – something that has changed my entire life.  God is able.” (p. 6) Though filled with numerous Scripture references, Priscilla Shirer’s book God is Able stands on the power of Ephesians 3:20-21 (NKJV)– 20 Now to Him who is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that works in us, 21 to Him be glory in the church by Christ Jesus to all generations, forever and ever. Amen. And if you haven’t bought that Christmas present yet for yourself or your friend and you’re considering whether or not to buy this book, let me tell you in Priscilla’s own words what you’ll be getting. She talks about a slice of upside down pizza (point down) and says: “So . . . got your piece of pizza? See that tip at the bottom? The place where you’d take your first bite? We’re going to start there . . . . I feel confident as we go along and you’re holding up these verses to look at them in this way, a bunch of divine goodness is going to slide right off into your lap. But that’s okay – because that’s the kind of stain that will look really good on you.” (p. 25). *************************************************************************************************** DISCLOSURE: The publisher provided a complimentary copy to me in exchange for my honest review. Opinions expressed are solely my own.

Read more book reviews by Delana H. Stewart.

Read how God answered a 9 yr prayer in my life.

Going through a rough circumstance in your life? Need some soul flotation? Click here.

Family, Mommy, Faith, Education, Inspiration

Leave a Reply

