Putting Down Roots

root, plant, orchid

Orchid farm in Thailand. Photo by James G. Stewart. Used with permission.

No more moving. No more goodbyes. All my loved ones in one place. Sounds like heaven to me!

I was re-reading and contemplating an old post To Be Deracinated, regarding being uprooted. I thought about the joy that will be mine when I reach the place Jesus is preparing for me where I no longer have to experience being uprooted.

Then an encouraging thought popped into my head: It is possible to start putting down roots there even while I am still here.

19 “Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal, 20 but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal. 21 For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.” –Matthew 6:19-21

18 They are to do good, to be rich in good works, to be generous and ready to share, 19 thus storing up treasure for themselves as a good foundation for the future, so that they may take hold of that which is truly life.” — 1 Timothy 6:18-19

How do you handle transitions and adjustments in your life?

See also: He Knows the Way

Family, Mommy, Faith, Education, Inspiration

2 thoughts on “Putting Down Roots

Leave a comment