Learning from the Best

Though Jesus was never a physical parent on earth, I would say He knows a thing or two about parenting! He is God; He is Shepherd; He is Creator; He is Love. Recently, I opened theCompassion, Yoke, gentle, rest, parenting Word asking the Lord to direct my steps and give me wisdom in parenting. The following very familiar verses were viewed with a new perspective.

 

Matthew 11:29-30

Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.

Matthew 12:7

But if you had known what this means, ‘I desire compassion and not sacrifice,’ you would not have condemned the innocent.

 

So, here is what I learned from Jesus to apply to parenting:

  • Be gentle
  • Be humble in heart
  • Find rest
  • Don’t place a heavy burden on myself, my spouse, or my children (guide myself and them to seeking the easy yoke.
  • Be compassionate—desire compassion over compliance
  • Do good on the Sabbath
  • Remember that other than speaking against the Holy Spirit, there is no sin my child can do that is unforgiveable.

 

Recently, I read the book Customized Parenting in a Trending World by Richard and Carrie Blackaby. Unlike any book on parenting that I have ever read, this book’s father/daughter duo does a wonderful job encouraging parents and challenging parents to ask themselves hard questions, as well as “seek divine answers, and refuse to give up until each of your children is thriving.”

What are some of the things that have most encouraged you as a parent? Please share quotes, scripture, experiences, and thoughts from friends and family in how to parent well . . . and have joy in the journey.

See my review of Customized Parenting by clicking on this link.

 

 

One thought on “Learning from the Best

  1. Pingback: Custom Job | The Education Cafe

Leave a Reply

