What Will It Take?

exercise, tricep dipsWhat does it take to motivate you to do the things you know are good for you but which you also know you are tempted not to do? Like exercise.

For me it took aging and injury…or multiple injuries. I got tired of being sick all the time (and tired all the time). Then, there was the time I broke my foot just getting out of bed . . . and the time I tore a muscle in my back putting a jug of water on the cooler. Oh, and what about the time just 1 ½ years ago when I tore three places in my rotator cuff on my right shoulder. Yikes! That was the final straw that broke the camel’s back.

I have never like physical fitness. I used to do all kinds of things to log squats Delget out of P.E. in middle school and high school. While I enjoyed a season of softball every now and then, I would more often be found curled up with a book or notebook and pen.

In the past, any kind of physical activity/exercise/sport seemed another task or chore on the do-I-really-have-to-do-that list. I found it easy to procrastinate or avoid. I never thought I would ever get to a point where I actually enjoyed working out. My friends who are like the old me (not enjoying exercise or physical fitness) find it difficult to believe that they could also get to a point of enjoyment, longing, or even addiction to physical activity (in the form of exercise, sport, fitness).

For most of us I believe it is a matter of finding the thing or things to motivate us to do what is right and good.

Motivational Factors

  •             Mental and Physical Health

Perhaps you’re tired of being sick and tired all the time . . . or facing multiple injuries. Or maybe you would like to combat memory loss. You may want to help yourself or your family deal with ADHD, nature-deficit disorder, or other mental or physical struggles. And don’t forget the benefits to both the developing and the aging brain.

  •             Being a Successful Professional

I recently read an article that included a portion on exercise/fitness and presenting yourself as a professional or successful person.

  •             Having a Buddy

My health is not the only motivational factor for me. Having a fitness buddy (in my case my husband) helps me tremendously. We find that there are days one of us is less motivated to work out, but the other one encourages to press Verse Del crosson. (Kind of like the proverb about two being better than one because when one falls down there is one to pick him up).

  •             Honoring the One who made you

Finally, I find strength and motivation in knowing that my body is Christ’s temple, and I can do all things through Him who strengthens me!

What do you do to stay fit or get fit? What are you thinking about doing? What do you find motivational?

See also:

Getting Up on the Wrong Side of the Bed

Can Exercise Improve My Memory?

Hit the Bunny Trail

Articles on Nature-Deficit Disorder

Build a Better Brain

Get Your Brain In Gear — Do Something!

17 Things That Make You Look More Professional

Are You Ready to Quit?

One thought on “What Will It Take?

Leave a Reply

