Everything is Possible

“God has never let me down, and He isn’t going to start anytime soon.”

This quote from Jen Bricker’s book, Everything is Possible: Finding the Faith and Courage to bricker-bookFollow Your Dreams, is something God has shown me repeatedly throughout my journey following Him. Anytime I become discouraged or faced with an overwhelming trial, all I have to do is look back through my life to see how He has brought me through countless trials and tribulations, and how He has answered numerous prayers and blessed me beyond what I could ask or imagine.

Jen Bricker–born without legs, abandoned at birth, adopted by the family God planned for her life, author, aerialist, motivational speaker, tumbling champ, world traveler, and biological sister of Olympic gymnast Dominique Moceanu–began from an early age motivating others to recognize their significance, trust in God’s plan for their lives, and live each day by the motto her parents taught her: “Never say ‘can’t.’” She could have lived a bitter life of helplessness and hopelessness. Instead, she challenges everyone to understand his/her significance.

In her book, Jen says, “I believe God made me the way I am so I could get people’s attention, so I could spread his Word and make a difference in some small way in the world. It was no accident—not fate or chance or circumstance. God doesn’t make mistakes. He has a particular place in mind for each and every one of us. Knowing that empowers me and helps me embrace my calling” (p. 93). She compares life to a roller coaster, not knowing what might be around the next twist, turn, climb, or sudden stop. She says that even though it can be “absolutely terrifying” she knows this truth: “God has never let me down, and He isn’t going to start anytime soon.” (p. 169)

 

The title for Jen’s book – Everything is Possible – comes from her favorite Bible verse, Mark 9:23. She challenges her readers to see life as making a series of right choices. She lives her daily life:

  1. Choosing happiness over sadness.
  2. Choosing optimism over pessimism.
  3. Choosing encouraging over discouraging.
  4. Choosing to read her Bible and pray daily.
  5. Choosing to “cast all” her anxieties and fears on the Lord, knowing “He cares” for her (I Peter 5:7).
  6. Choosing to love, obey, and respect God.
  7. Choosing to believe anything is possible, and that it may simply need a plan or bit of creativity (p. 170).

Having lived in or traveled to many of the same places she talks about in her book (e.g. Thailand and Dubai), and having an adoption connection, I especially enjoyed reading her book and looking through the many full-color photos. But even if you have lived in one town your whole life and are not adopted (nor have adopted anyone) her book will bless, encourage, inspire, and motivate you in your personal walk with the Lord and in the way you encounter others in life who are different from you. Each one of us is unique and each one of is significant.

As Jen says, “We all have special gifts and talents that make us not only unique but also great. Everyone has the power to change someone’s life. Everyone has a voice and a stage and the ability to impact the world in a positive way” (p. 20).

I couldn’t put this book down!

Read my other reviews of her book on:

 Read more about Jen’s book Everything is Possible on the publisher’s site: Baker Books.

Read more books reviews on Delana’s World.

Pouring out raw, honest thoughts before the Lord: Heartsong One: Windows to the Soul.

Book review by Delana H. Stewart, author of Nine Year Pregnancy, Three Days at Sea, and My Paper Pregnancy Journal.

del-jumeira-beach-march-2014.jpg

Jumeirah Beach, Dubai, UAE

 

 

2 thoughts on “Everything is Possible

  1. Pingback: A Voice and a Stage | The Education Cafe

  2. Pingback: You are Not a Mistake | Nine Year Pregnancy

Leave a Reply

